Labor Day Weekend

Standard
Image
Delicious pink lemonade and red velvet cupcakes from Sweet Ali’s Bakery

Well, just like that, my Labor day weekend has come and gone. But, it was filled with so many exciting and wonderful things that I am praising the Lord for today. To start the weekend off, I was able to head home with my friend Mary to Lemont, IL to see some high school football. But, on the way there we stopped at a bakery in Hindsdale, IL which is ENTIRELY gluten free. It’s called Sweet Ali’s Bakery (see link here) and let’s just say I was so happy to step into a bakery where I literally could eat whatever was in it. I was so overwhelmed with joy that I may or may not have had tears in my eyes. :) I was just praising the Lord that I had found this bakery on google and let me tell you – it is worth the drive to go there, especially if you are g-free. Even if you aren’t, I suggest you try it. My friend Mary isn’t g-free and she still thought everything was delicious. The ladies there were so friendly, welcoming, and eager to introduce to me to their products and try samples of brownies and cobblers. Mary ordered a pink lemonade cupcake and I a red velvet. They were DELISH!! Praise God for a bakery who knows how to hit the spot when you haven’t had a cupcake in 3+ months (that’s a lot for those who know me!). Additionally, I picked up some of their frozen cinnamon buns to try and had them today – again, even better than the gluten kind in my opinion. The great thing about this shop is that they had both fresh and frozen items ranging from breads to donuts to purchase. I will definitely be going back! Thank you God for Sweet Ali’s! 

Friday night was my first big high school game under the lights. It was pretty neat actually, even if I do not care all that much for football. The field is on a hill and so the sunset was setting behind the field goals and was breathtaking. Only God could have orchestrated something so cool. See my pic below: 

Image
I call this one: Le Sunset Over Lemont

 

Saturday was a great day full of relaxing with my super sweet boyfriend Reise, a little bit of a football game, homework, and going out for my friend’s birthday. It was so great to spend all day with the man I love. :) It does my heart good to be with him and pray with him. :) 

Saturday evening brought some great news from my big sister, Tera – she’s engaged! Her fiancé proposed on Mackinac Island and I couldn’t be happier for the two of them. It is such a blessing to see my sister find someone who is so right for her – God definitely brought her and James together and I cannot wait to see what the future holds for them both. :) Sunday I got to travel home with Mary to my house for our first flea market experience with my Mom and sister. We saw tons of amazing furniture (which I will someday put in my house) and odd knick knacks, but did not find that one thing we were looking for. The evening brought dinner with friends and family, and afterwards a photo shoot with my photog best friend Sabrina. You can check out her awesome work on Facebook here or her personal website here. She took pics of Reise and I, Mary, and Tess. Some of the photos are up on facebook already, but I wanted to share one that I really like of Reise and I where I am laughing so hard. She does an amazing job! 

Image
Credit goes to Sabrina Nohling Photography

Today, Monday, brought lots of gluten free baking and homework. I made delicious Pumpkin Paleo Muffins – they are super moist, and taste like fall. Plus, they are pretty healthy and g-free! Try them out! Thanking God that they are so yummy and I don’t have to miss out on yummy fall flavors like pumpkin !

Now I am back at school and reflecting on the weekend, smiling because I am so blessed with a great family, great friends, and a great boyfriend. Most of all, I have a GREAT GOD! HE is to be praised in all of this. Friday I read an awesome verse in Acts that I want to share. Paul is defending his faith to King Agrippa and explaining the hope that he is daily being admonished for. Paul does not relent, and goes on to bolding claiming that the “Twelve tribes of Israel zealously worship God night and day, and they share the same hope I have. Yet, Your Majesty, they accuse me for having this hope.” He goes on to state: “Why does it seem incredible to any of you that God can raise the dead?” (Acts 26:8). 

Woah – that’s what my boyfriend called a Sprit bomb. One of those things where the Spirit just speaks to you, as this verse did to me. He is calling his accusers out saying “Don’t you get that God is so great – so incredibly great that he can raise the dead?”. That line spoke to me because here is Paul saying, “Why do you have no faith that God can do anything – like raise the dead?” I feel as if he is saying to you and I, stop having little faith in the great works that the Father can do. Rather, believe in Him, be strong and have hope, because God can raise the dead. Read that again, God can raise the dead. So what makes you or I think that whatever we need God to do, and or don’t believe that God can do something for us, we need to reflect on this verse and realize He can. He will. He does. God can raise the dead, so why can’t he be everything to you? Now that’s something to think about. 

He was. He is. He is to come. 

One response »

  1. I love that bakery! I take my grandmother grocery shopping in Hinsdale most Saturday mornings. Congrats to your sister! Your weekend sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

