… but I feel better!

Standard

So as many of you know, I was diagnosed with food allergies back in June. These allergies included gluten and wheat. For those of you who do not know me personally, carbs and bread were my weakness. I was that girl at Panera who would order soup in a bread bowl with a side of bread – and eat it all. I love bread. Well, I loved bread. Now I am g-free (gluten free) and that’s the life for me.

So being diagnosed with gluten and wheat allergies was devastating. It rocked my world, turned me upside down, flipped me inside out, and threw me a curve ball. How does a girl who eats bread daily (and by daily I mean I could eat bread for a snack haha) go to eating it not at all ? Well, the first step was just giving it up. I went cold turkey and not turned back. (I loaded up on my favs before I got the news I was g -free so I could say I ate my fav foods before my life changed :] ).

Along with that, was just giving it up to God. It has taken me awhile to do this, and I still struggle with giving it up to God, but especially tonight I am feeling at peace with my g-free diagnosis. Some days are harder than others, I am not going to lie. Some days I just want that cookie. Some days I want to have a giant bread bowl with soup. But most days I remind myself that God has given this to me for a reason. And you know what? I know that reason is to feel better. I went from horrible, daily IBS symptoms to barely any at all. My stomach and head have not felt this good in I don’t know how many years. That’s right, I said, years.

That is because sometimes God gives us hard things to make us better, even if it is eating gluten free. In fact, there is a great verse that talks about this :  “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in [me] will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus” Philippians 1:6. I know God is working in me through this entire gluten free experience, but also in my faith life. I feel closer to God than ever before, for He keeps working in me, through spiritual growth as well as my g-free journey.

Some days, I admit, I do not remember this. I get angry that I cannot have things that my friends are eating like Portillo’s italian beef or just a baguette with butter. But, I need to keep reminding myself that I do feel better. I honestly do. So that is how I have been challenging myself lately – when I get upset or frustrated, I just finish the sentence with…but I feel better.  And that’s the truth, I do feel better. I know that with each passing day, living g-free will become easier, and it does. I have been blessed to not have gluten or wheat for four months now because God has given me the strength to pass on my favorite foods. (Although sometimes I just need to get a strong sniff of whatever I am craving – like bread – and I will be good ). I feel my story is similar to Janelle’s here in this blog that my sister shared with my mom and I. She talks about how baking was her ministry – as is mine – and she has been gifted strength to overcome her weaknesses with the help of God. For, I can do all things through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

And it is with this strength that I can get through any hard time, g-free or otherwise. For no matter how bad I wish I could just eat ____ (insert glutenous craving here)…I FEEL BETTER.

And you know what? I love that I can share my g-free struggles and successes with other friends (and you!) so I can help you. For our struggles are given to us from God , so that we can help other people going through the same things. Amen for g-free ministry!

I hope and pray that this note has helped you see that with God all things are possible, even what seems super hard to believe. I still have my hard days, as I am sure we all do, and I pray that you know HE will help you through.

 

 

G-Free tidbit of the week:

It’s squash season! 🙂 Which means spaghetti squash is available! It’s just like eating spaghetti but it’s g-free and is so much better for you (and only 40 calories a cup!)

 

It’s the easiest thing to make too! Just purchase a spaghetti squash and pierce it with a knife to allow steam to escape, and pop it in the microwave for 5-1o mins until soft. Slice it in half, scoop out the seeds, and shred the “noodles” with a fork. Top with your favorite sauce. My new found fav is Trader Joe’s Vodka Pasta sauce – it’s g-free and is totally restaurant quality, tastes like you are at a local italian restaurant !

 

I made spaghetti squash for dinner, added the sauce and some chicken, and bam! Super yummy and delicious meal!

See my photo here: http://instagram.com/p/RQ8HOWgjP2/

 

Leave a comment